2020 Horizon Award Winners

2020 Horizon Award Winners
Posted on 09/09/2019
Horizon Award Winners words with purple background

Teachers Honored for Exemplary First-Year Performance

The Spring Hill School District recently honored its 2020 Horizon Award winners. This recognition is given to teachers for exemplary performance during their first year in the classroom. The elementary school honoree is Molly Herbic, second grade teacher at Spring Hill Elementary School. The secondary honoree is Matt Lundy, Chemistry, Physics and Engineering Applications teacher at Spring Hill High School. Both educators joined the district for the 2018-19 school year, and are now in their second year of teaching.

As district-level winners, they have the opportunity to compete in the Kansas State Department of Education’s 2020 Kansas Horizon Award Program. Herbic and Lundy will represent Spring Hill Schools at a special ceremony during the 2020 Kansas Exemplary Educators Network (KEEN) Conference in Topeka on February 14, 2020.

“We are so proud to have these two outstanding teachers as part of our USD 230 team,” said Wayne Burke, Superintendent. “We’ll continue to see great things from them in the years to come!”

Herbic with administrators group shot from the waist up
(L-R) Brad Willson, Asst. Superintendent, Tammy Endecott, SHES Principal, Molly Herbic, SHES Teacher, Wayne Burke, Superintendent and Michelle Hackney, HR Director

Matt Lundy award winner with administrators pictured from waist up
(L-R) Brad Willson, Asst. Superintendent, Marc Williams, SHHS Principal, Matt Lundy, SHHS Teacher, Wayne Burke, Superintendent and Michelle Hackney, HR Director

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.